Home Page

Lee Common Church of England School

Early Years

Early Years Curriculum


Children in our Reception class (age 4-5) follow the Early Years curriculum.  The emphasis is on learning through play activities, with a focus on the seven areas of learning of the Early Years Curriculum.


Three areas are particularly important for building a foundation for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, forming relationships and thriving. These are the prime areas:


• Communication and language


• Physical development


• Personal, social and emotional development


We also support children in four other specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:


• Literacy


• Mathematics


• Understanding the world


• Expressive arts and design


The link to the full curriculum with Early Learning Goals is given below, See individual subjects for more information on how our Early Years curriculum prepares our children for Key Stage One.